Wooden Beer Tote

As a craft beer and homebrewer I find sometimes it is a pain to carry bottles to a friend’s house or tailgate party.  Especially when homebrew requires the bottle to stay upright in order to avoid the extra yeast sludge in the bottom getting mixed into the beer.  While browsing through http://www.thingiverse.com I found quite a few beer totes/crates.  This one (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1673366) was my favorite.  So I decided to make a couple.

Since I do not have access to a CNC machine at this time I decided to use the laser at Familab. I really like this design because it lays flat when not in use and it is super easy to put “build” and assemble.  The build only requires gluing a couple parts together.  I recommend using some good glue, max coverage, and applying even pressure.  If at some point the glue separates then you will have spilled beer.  No one likes alcohol abuse so be careful!  Assembly is even easier.  It consists of 3 parts (middle handle, top, and bottom) which simply slide into each other.  The size of the bottle holes in the original files is slightly bigger than what a normal 12 oz bottle will need.  This doesn’t present a problem for the 12 oz bottles and even gives you the option to use slightly bigger bottles.

The only change I made was I added logos of various things to the handles of mine.  I used the laser to etch the logos and designs.  The key to doing this is to use wood that looks good when etching.  Otherwise you will find yourself painting in the logo by hand.  I used 1/4 inch birch plywood for mine.  It can be a little pricey but worth it in the end.  If you want, you could even make additional handles and just swap them out based on the event you are going to.

Leave a Reply

