DIY Outboard Engine Stand

The Sailboat we got had a small(ish) outboard engine with it.  It’s a 10hp engine so it isn’t going to win any races but it will certainly move the boat around for some fishing adventures.  I might be be a bit negative but everything we get used lately doesn’t work and needs some TLC before it can really be used.  So with that said, we decided to build a stand to hold the engine while it is being worked on.  After some thought we also determined that the engine will not stay on the boat at all times to avoid getting stolen.  So this will also help with storing the boat and keeping it upright.

All of this stand was built using cheap 2×4 and 2×6 wood.  I am not going to go into great detail on how I did this because it really wasn’t my build at all.  In fact, I found an excellent write up and directions of the build by doing a simple Google search.  I found it HERE.  The user that made the post even provides a PDF file with all of the parts and construction laid out in a super easy way.

The only problem I ran into was that I made it way too short for the engine I had.  I didn’t realize this until I was completely finished with the build.  So I had to use some scrap 2×4’s to add feet that would raise the stand up.  Then I attached the casters to the feet.  This worked perfect.  I would have rather done the correct size to make it look a little better but structure wise, it works just fine.  Looks isn’t everything right?

Leave a Reply

