Boat Build – New Project

me_boat_fish_drawingYes, I know I already have a boat that I am already working on.  Yes, I know I need another project like I need a hole in the head. No, I don’t care lol

So I was browsing around http://www.meetup.com (which is an awesome site for finding groups of people doing hobbies you share) and I came across a sailing group.  Once a month they have a couple sailing classes over the weekend.  They put you on these small sailboats and show you the basics of how to sail.  This was, by FAR, one of the COOLEST things I have done in a very long time.  Ever since I have started fishing and getting out on the water I have been wanting to learn to sail.  The idea of being able to take a boat out on the water without a motor (or with a very small motor) and being able to just relax, fish, float around, or even take long trips up the coast seems to have lit a spark in the adventure side of my brain.

Of coarse I did what I always do when I come a cross some new idea, I research it til my brain goes numb.  I have looked into buying anything from a small to large sailboat.  I’ve looked into what it takes to build a boat.  From a small kayak to a large cabin sailboat.  The worst part is, I want to do it ALL!

Being the impatient person I am, I want to jump right into the large boat so I can set out sailing right away.  However, I know this is not practical.  I have come to the conclusion that if I am going to do this I need to start small.  Building a large cabin sailing boat is pretty over my head in time, material and experience.  Not to mention I have only sailed a small sunfish in low winds once.  I obviously need more practice before I jump to a large boat.

With that said, I am trying to decide between a kayak, jon boat, or a cross between them.

Any suggestions?

 

3 thoughts on “Boat Build – New Project

  1. I say start with kayak. Learn 1. To turn over upside down (with someone there) in it and right yourself again. Important to get comfortable with. 2. Go out with experienced folks often enough till you get suddenly caught in a bad sea. That way you will have better idea what to prepare for. 3. Practice strong swimming. 4. Always wear life jacket. 5. Contact your loving cousins Tracy and KC as they are so highly experienced in the water, why reinvent the wheel!? 🙂 learn stuff from them!! They would be happy to have you along

  2. Im looking forward to you starting this project. I want to see the progress. 😛 Its good thearapy to get lost in a good project.

Leave a Reply

