Aquaponics Setup – The Theory

A few years back I did some experimenting with hydroponics.  I did a few setups and I even did some videos on my setups as the developed.  They turned out really cool and I had a lot of fun doing it.  The cherry tomatoes were HUGE and there were SO many!  Since then I have always been interested in the idea of Aquaponics.  It’s pretty much hydroponics but instead of adding nutrients to the water, you used fish waste. For instance, you would have a tank of fish and throughout the day you flush the fish water through the plan roots and that is how they get the nutrients they need. So not only do you get fresh veggies but after the fish are big and fat, you can also have a fish fry!

Now this project is going to have to fall under two categories.  Aquaponics and Wood Working.  Only because I plan to build 90% of this setup with the scrap wood I can come up with.  As I stated in previous posts, I get used pallets and I often use the wood from them.  They should be good enough for this project. Depending on how big my other projects get, I may not made this one too big.  Although, from most of my research and what I have done in the past with hydroponics, small setups aren’t very rewarding.  I suppose I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

Here is the last hydroponic video I posted before moving on to other things.  Feel free to take a look at my YouTube Channel if you would like to check out the hydroponic video series I created a while ago.

 

Leave a Reply

