Busy Busy Busy

Wow, I have not written anything in a very long time!  Lately I have been doing a lot of projects to keep me busy and out of the house as much as possible.  A couple weeks ago I has na opportunity to attend some teachings and live events held by the Dalai Lama.  It was such an awesome experience and fantastic opportunity to see another culture and an insight into its beliefs.  I learned a lot and got some great photos.  Most of the experience was all because a stranger (and fellow photographer) was willing to give up some extra tickets they had for the even along with their company and knowledge.  I almost feel as though this person does not even exist but instead is just a figment of my imagination.  It is not often a beautiful woman spends that much time approaching and talking with me much less gives me a free ticket to an event to tag along.  Even putting my serious lack of self-confidence aside the generosity of this stranger was fantastic!  It was definitely something I needed at this low point in my life with my major lack of hope for humanity.  Not to mention she has the coolest side job I have ever heard of.  Imagine three times a year you get to travel overseas for free and the only thing you need to do is follow a family around taking photos for them.  Personally I think that is a pretty sweet deal!  This interaction has really made me think a lot about my social skills and how improving them can not only help me get more travel opportunities but also improve the experience while traveling.  It seems like a must needed skill for finding those hidden spots and interesting people!

In the mean time I have stepped up my photography in hopes that it will help with the kickstarter project (more info coming soon).  Doing so I have started a few projects that keep me shooting every day (one reason I have been so busy) so that I can improve my skills and come up with new ideas.

Leave a Reply

